Will God Forgive Osama bin Laden?

Rich Lee

This blog is dedicated in memory of Rich Lee who perished during the September 11th attacks. 

Last night my husband and I were watching The O’ Reilly Factor on Fox News.  Bill O’Reilly was discussing the recent killing of terrorist-mastermind Osama bin Laden calling it, “A great day for the USA.”  While I agree the world is a much safer place, I also know that our fight against terrorism is far from over and worry about any retaliation that lies ahead.

Five people were killed in a compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan, including Osama bin Laden who was shot in the head.  Forty Navy Seals carried out the operation removing his body from the compound and then reportedly performed a traditional Muslim burial before dumping his body in the Arabian Sea.  Muslim law requires that the body be buried within 24 hours.

Some mistakenly believe that the United States is at war with the Muslim community but this is not the case.  This has nothing to do with the Muslim faith.  Our enemy is not Islam but al Qaeda. Muslims actually follow a religion of peace, mercy and forgiveness.  The majority of Muslims have nothing to do with the actions of radical Muslims such as Osama Bin Laden.

Getting back to The O’Reilly Factor, we were watching the show and Bill continued stating, “If there is an afterlife, Osama bin Laden is in trouble.”  The statement brought a smile to my face.  Yes, there is most certainly an afterlife.  And, yes, bin Laden is in trouble.

But not in the way that some of us may think.  Having just completed my book, Visits to Heaven (4th Dimension Press/February 2011), I have reviewed many near-death experiences and have researched the phenomenon for quite some time.  Many who experience an NDE report having a life review in which they see their entire life flash before their eyes and in various cases feel the pain that they caused others during their lifetime.

This is done without judgment but is meant so that they can learn from their experiences.  The following are two examples taken from my book, Visits to Heaven:

My life review was rather painful as I witnessed ALL the times when I withheld my love to others because of anger, frustration, vindictiveness, or apathy.  I realized I had so many opportunities every single day to be a vessel of Light and love but failed.  As painful as that was to me, the Light of God was loving me through this life review knowing that I was learning a great lesson in realizing the importance of loving others.  (Nancy Clark)

******************************************

The first thing I remember seeing was an incident when I used a key to scratch a car.  I could feel the pain that I caused because of my actions.

 Then I remember thinking, “Oh, no! I’m in trouble!”  But at this point, my angel surprised me by saying, “Don’t worry; these are just lessons.”  Instead of being comforted by his words, I was a bit unnerved by the realization that he could read my thoughts.  All this was going on as the movie continued to play showing second by second of my entire life.  And, again, I could feel what I caused as a result of my actions.

 Everything that I ever did seemed to have a life of its own.  For example, I felt the pain the owner of the car experienced. Then I felt the pain his wife felt when he told her about it.  This was all a very unpleasant feeling. (Glauco Schaffer)

What is interesting to note is that while many of these reviews, according to reports, took place in the presence of other ethereal beings, there was no judgment.  They, they say, were the ones who passed judgment on themselves.  They were their own worst critic.

A friend asked me if I felt that “God” would forgive Osama bin Laden.  My answer in the affirmative seemed to unnerve him.  Yes, I want him to burn and rot in hell just like everyone else. But the truth is we can’t in one breath say that we worship an all-loving God and in another say that He is unforgiving.  Regardless of which religion we practice and which God we pay reverence to, the fact is there is only one God.  When we pray, there is only one God listening.  So whether we are Jewish, Muslim, Catholic, Protestant, etc., it doesn’t matter.  It doesn’t matter whether we call Him God, Yahweh, Allah, Jehovah, or whatever. Whether we realize it or not, we are all honoring the same God.

Nearly 3,000 people lost their lives in the attacks of September 11th.  I hope Osama bin Laden feels the pain that he not only caused each of the victims but also the hurt and loss of all of their loved ones.

We are all here to learn lessons and there is a reason for everything.  What is the purpose for such atrocity and murder, I do not know.  But I do know that sometimes it takes something bad to teach us something good.  The killing of bin Laden has once again rekindled the memory of the World Trade Center attacks and reminded us all that nothing can ever conquer love and the human spirit.

During the communion rite of a Roman Catholic mass, the priest says, “Lord, grant us the peace and unity of Your kingdom where You live forever and ever.”     May we all continue to pray for peace and unity around the world. 


Leave a Reply

