Did My Intuition Save My Life?

 

Ask someone to define intuition and chances are you will receive a multitude of answers.  It has been defined as direct, immediate knowledge or understanding independent of reasoning.  In other words, your intuition allows you to receive or access information without knowing how or where it came from. Many also refer to it as a knowing, sixth sense, inner voice, gut feeling, spiritual guidance, etc.

Intuition has been credited for many inventions across the ages but what some don’t realize is that it’s also been known to save lives. During the course of my research, I have been told many stories in which people have had hunches that they’ve later realized prevented them from being killed.  In one case, a man was on a date driving in his car and suddenly had the feeling that he needed to stop.  He waited a few minutes, to the dismay of his date, and then went on.  When he made his way up the road, he realized that he had just missed a major traffic accident.

As I said, I have heard many stories like these.  I just never suspected that it would happen to me.  Last week I was running some errands and stopped at a local Target store.  On my way out, I made my way back to my car as I pushed my now-full cart.  Suddenly, I experienced what I call an intuitive vision.  In a flash, I saw myself being hit by a car.  In a mere second, I saw myself being thrown by the force of a car and even felt the emotions of my loved ones.  The feeling was so strong and so immediate that I stopped pushing my cart and stood there in the parking lot for about five seconds wondering what had just happened.

I quickly brushed it off, however, and again headed to my car parked about 15 feet away.  However, just as I began to push my cart, a man in a pickup truck abruptly and swiftly backed his car out of the spot directly in front of me.  I was so close that I had to quickly pull back the cart to keep it from getting hit.  The man backed out of the spot so fast and didn’t even look to see if anyone was behind him.  As he backed out of the spot, he saw me standing there, with my heart racing, shocked and in utter disbelief, and quickly put his truck back into drive and pulled back into the spot realizing how close he had come to hitting me.

I’m not sure what this man was thinking but I can tell you that he zoomed out of that spot.  Had he hit me, I would have been seriously injured if not killed.  After he pulled back into his spot, he sat in the driver’s seat with his head buried in his hands as I stood there visibly shaken from the whole experience.  What I was thinking, though, was not, “Oh My God, I could have been killed!” but “Oh My God, I saw this happen before it happened!”

Had I not stopped for those mere five seconds to reflect on the vision that flashed before my eyes, I would have been right behind his truck as he floored that gas pedal.  There is no doubt in my mind about it.

But why and how had I seen that vision?  I have asked myself this question many times over the past few days.  Instinctively, my gut tells me that it wasn’t my time and someone was looking after me from the Other Side.  Was it my spirit guide warning me of what lay ahead?  A friend of mine who is a medium told me that I was protected by my spirit guide. Spirit guides are said to be our constant helpmates as we experience our lifetime and learn our lessons on earth. They do not deprive us of our freewill or ability to make choices but, often times, they will offer us warnings.

Renowned psychic medium Sylvia Browne believes that we all have a total of five exit points in which we can leave this incarnation and return to the Other Side.  Some of these, like near-death experiences are very obvious.  However, some are not so clear.  For example, you suddenly become ill and have to cancel an appointment that would have resulted, unbeknownst to you, in a fatal accident.  Most of us reach these so called “exit points” without even realizing it.

So this begs the question: Was my experience in fact one of my exit points? To be honest, I don’t believe in these exit points.  If our soul incarnates on earth in order to learn lessons and we do choose everything about our lives before we get here, including when and how we will die, why is there a need for five exit points?  Don’t we already know which point we are going to choose?

Though I’m not sure if I believe in the concept of exit points, I can tell you that I definitely believe in the power of intuition.  This is not some form of magic or hocus-pocus.  We all have access to this sixth sense or intuitive knowledge.  We need only pay attention to what our gut instinct is telling us.  These gut instincts actually come from the Solar Plexus Chakra which is the intuitive chakra and located in the upper abdomen.

Although we all have access to this intuitive sense, far too often it is ignored.  In my case, when I saw the vision of myself being hit by a car, I could have very easily dismissed it as hogwash and continued on my way without every giving it a second thought.  Of course, had I done so I wouldn’t be sitting here right now writing about the experience.  It makes me wonder just how many of us find ourselves in horrific situations simply because we did not take heed to our intuition.

I once read a quote by a woman named Abella Arthur.  She wrote, “Intuition is like a slow motion machine that captures data instantaneously and hits you like a ton of bricks. Intuition is a knowing, a sensing that is beyond the conscious understanding—a gut feeling. Intuition is not pseudo-science.”

No, it is not by any means pseudo-science.  It is, in fact, very real and accessible at all times.  Once we understand that there is much more to this life than what we can acknowledge with our five senses, we will experience a heightened sense of awareness which allows us access to all sorts of information.  So pay attention.  It may even save your life.

One thought on “Did My Intuition Save My Life?

Leave a Reply

