The Ultimate Love Story

   


Jesus said to him, Thomas, because you have seen me, you have believed:  blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.   

American King James Version

 

The other day, I had my family over for dinner.  We were all sitting around having a glass of wine and talking when the conversation went to my books and my new “Visits from Heaven” group on Facebook.  Suddenly, my father blurted out,”Why don’t you write about something else?  Why do you have to write about death?  Write about life. Write a love story.”

I looked at him, a bit disappointed but not surprised and said, “Thank you for your support, Dad.”  Was I being sarcastic?  Yes, of course, I was.  Was I hurt?  Yes. Honestly, it is sometimes very difficult to do what I do and not have the full support of my family.  But I do understand.

As I have said numerous times, had I not had my visit from heaven, I would not have written a book about evidential afterlife communication.  As they say, “Seeing is believing.”  Or is it?

I am Roman Catholic and attended mass yesterday evening.  When it came time to say the Nicene Creed, I found myself repeating along with Father Frank and the rest of the congregation:

We believe in one God,

 the father, the Almighty

maker of heaven and earth,

of all that is seen and unseen.

 

As I said the last part, “seen and unseen,” I thought are we not saying that we believe in the metaphysical here?  Are we not saying that we believe in spirit?  I believe we are.

 

He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead,

and his kingdom will have no end.

 

How can God judge the living and the dead at the same time if they are not present at the same time?  He can because there truthfully is no death.  The only difference is when we are on this earth, we are alive in body and when we are on the Other Side, we are alive in spirit.  But in both cases, we are alive.

What I’ve said over and over again is that we are spiritual beings having a human experience.  Our true essence is spirit.  Spirit is primary and the physical is secondary.

So what I wish my father would understand is that I am very much writing about life.  Death is a necessary part of life.  We can’t have one without the other.  As I write in my book, Visits to Heaven, “The new paradigm of Oneness states that we are all one unified field of consciousness. Think of it this way: If we are all Oneness and separateness is a delusion, then it cannot be that some of us are dead while others are alive. Everything is either alive or dead.  And since clearly we are not all dead, it can be said that everything and everyone is alive always.” (Page 346)

My dad also said that I should write a love story.  Well, maybe someday I will try writing a Harlequin Romance style novel.  Frankly, I am a hopeless romantic and always enjoy a good love story.

But the truth is I am already writing about love in a very big way.  As one of my closest friends, Vanessa, pointed out, there truly is no greater love story than a loved one coming through from heaven.   Love is the one part of us that we will carry over from this physical plane. All the feelings that we have for our loved ones, all those memories that we hold dear, and all those lessons learned will go with us when we cross over.

The only thing that matters now and the only thing that will matter then is how much love we shared.  Love is all that is.

 


Leave a Reply

