If Tomorrow Never Comes

If I knew it would be the last time that I’d see you fall asleep, I would tuck you in more tightly and pray the Lord, your soul to keep.
If I knew it would be the last time that I see you walk out the door, I would give you a hug and kiss and call you back for one more.
If I knew it would be the last time I’d hear your voice lifted up in praise, I would video tape each action and word, so I could play them back day after day.
If I knew it would be the last time, I could spare an extra minute or two to stop and say “I love you,” instead of assuming, you would know I do.

If I knew it would be the last time I would be there to share your day, well I’m sure you’ll have so many more, so I can let just this one slip away.
For surely there’s always tomorrow to make up for an oversight, and we always get a second chance to make everything right.
There will always be another day to say our “I love you’s,” and certainly there’s another chance to say our “Anything I can do’s?”

But just in case I might be wrong, and today is all I get, I’d like to say how much I love you and I hope we never forget.
Tomorrow is not promised to anyone, young or old alike, and today may be the last chance you get to hold your loved one tight.
So if you’re waiting for tomorrow, why not do it today?
For if tomorrow never comes, you’ll surely regret the day, that you didn’t take that extra time for a smile, a hug, or a kiss and you were too busy to grant someone, what turned out to be their one last wish.
So hold your loved ones close today, whisper in their ear, tell them how much you love them and that you’ll always hold them dear, take time to say “I’m sorry,” “please forgive me”, “thank you” or “it’s okay.”
And if tomorrow never comes, you’ll have no regrets about today.
Author Unknown

Tomorrow is promised to no one. Yesterday is but a memory, today a gift and tomorrow only a wish. We all know that, I’m sure, right? Yet we all still continue to take our time here and the people in our lives for granted. I am no exception.
Admittedly, I was not planning on writing a blog on this subject but as they say, things happen. What happened? A wonderful woman named Jacqueline Foreman (pictured above), just 41 years of age, passed away last week on November 14th. Jackie was a paranormal investigator, published author, certified life coach, photo journalist and radio show host of Your Mental Health Talk Radio. I appeared on her show this summer and we talked about my latest book, Visits to Heaven. To listen to the podcast, please visit: http://www.blogtalkradio.com/yourmentalhealth/2011/08/01/visits-to-heaven-with-josie-varga.

We had a blast on the air and spoke for a long time on the phone off the air. I never forget the day she called to tell me she wanted to meet me. She lived in New Jersey and told me she would not mind making the drive up from her home in Marlton, New Jersey.
I told Jackie that I would, of course, love to meet her one day. Only, that one day never came and I now am forced to write this with a heavy heart. If only I had known that she would pass so soon, I would have made an extra effort to meet her. If only. . . If only . . .
Sadly, we all have our own list of “If only’s.” But the reality is if we could learn just one thing, this list would be a lot shorter. What is this one thing? Life is a gift. It is not promised to us, only given for a certain amount of time.
When I wrote my book, Make Up Your Mind to be Happy: 105 Simple Tips (4th Dimension Press), I actually made this my very first tip. I guess sometimes even I need a reminder. Here’s what I wrote:

1. Recognize Life as a Gift


“If you really want to lift your spirit, you must realize first and foremost that life is a gift. It is not something to be taken for granted. I know because I am very guilty of doing just that. We all do. We get so caught up in our day-to-day routines that we don’t stop to realize how lucky we truly are.”

I go on to talk about how it took the idea of death to remind me just how precious life really is when I was diagnosed with melanoma in 2000. Today, yet again, it took death to remind me of just how precious life really is.
During my radio interview with Jackie, we talked about life and death. I must admit I had no idea just how sick she was at the time. During the interview, I told her that I was no longer afraid to die because of my experience. (I was referring to the evidential afterlife communication I received from my husband’s friend who died on 9/11. The experience changed my life and was the reason behind my book, Visits from Heaven (4th Dimension Press). Jackie added that she, too, was not afraid to die. She was only afraid of how she was going to die. When I asked her about it, she said she did not want to die in pain.
As I think of her now, I can only hope that she died peacefully. Jackie will be laid to rest tomorrow. If there is one thing that I’ve learned though my years of research, it is that our prayers truly help those on the other side. I ask you, therefore, to say a prayer for Jackie…a woman who made a difference in so many lives.
I also ask that you not let her death be in vain by remembering to cherish today. Don’t assume that you’ll have that chance to do what you want to do or say what you want to say tomorrow. Tomorrow may never come. The only thing that we are guaranteed is right now.
Albert Einstein once said, “Life is finite. Time is infinite. The probability that I am alive today is zero. In spite of this, I am now alive.” Yes, here we are. To me, this clearly proves that we were put here on this earth for a reason. So don’t waste your lifetime  and the incredible odds that go along with it by procrastinating and waiting for tomorrow. Please recognize that life is a gift.
If you love someone, say it. If you care for someone, show it. If you want something in life, go after it. Don’t let that chance slip away. Life doesn’t always give you second chances.
Please help me keep Jackie’s memory alive by sharing this with as many people as possible. Thank you so much for your support and prayers.

6 thoughts on “If Tomorrow Never Comes

  1. That was a beautiful tribute to Jackie. I’m so sorry you didn’t get to meet her in person in this lifetime, Josie, but I’m sure you’ll get to spend time with her one day on the other side. Praying that her adjustment is easy and that those she left behind find comfort and peace.

  2. Reminds me of the song by Garth Brooks “If Tomorrow Never Comes”. I think so much of my son Michael and what is going in on with him and how I miss him. Lately I’ve started reminding myself how my son was loaned to me for a certain
    amount of time. That time came and he returned home. Through all the guilt I felt
    I kept telling myself, if I only had one more day………..the answer is, I wouldn’t. I know that he will meet me when I return home and that is helping me come to grips to with tremendous loss. The blog is beautiful but I expect no less from you.

  3. A beautiful tribute to a dynamite woman. Thank you for sharing your friendship with us. Jackie’s voice was full of joy when she spoke to you. I am so grateful that like you that I had the opportunity to know her. In fact, I think I had a *visit* from her tonight where the lights in the room I was sitting in flickered on and off and my nook flickered on and off too. I never had that happened before. I smiled because I said to myself that must be Jackie saying “What’s up and I am here” !!

  4. Josie,

    This was a beautiful tribute to my sister. It has me in tears. I have been trying to be strong for my parents and I still have not grieved much. It was good to let the floodgates open for a moment. I miss her every moment of the day and I have so many of this “I wish I had….” You are so right. Life is so fragile, precious and short, We should never take it for granted that someone will always be there. I know Jackie knew how much I loved her. I spent the last 36 hours before she was hospitalized with her. She was so sick but we laughed, reminisced and even took a shower together like little kids. (The shower could fit 4 chubby chicks like me!) If I had known I would never talk to her again I don’t think I would change that last day and I am so grateful for it but I would have taken more time to spend with her.

    My heart is broken. she was my baby sister and I loved her dearly. I have faith that I will see her on the other side. But going on one day at a time is so difficult because she took a piece of my heart with her.

    Aaliyah Abdelazim

Leave a Reply

