Appreciate the Value of a Moment

“Sometimes you never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory.

-Dr. Seuss

Don’t you just wish you could know the importance of a moment exactly when it happens and not when it’s too late?  But let’s be honest most of us don’t realize the significance of a moment until its gone or even grasp how much someone means to us until we don’t have them anymore.  And sometimes this can’t be helped.

The last time I spoke to my friend Ray he told me he wanted to get together for dinner.  One thing led to another and I was busy working and finishing my book, Divine Visits.  I figured there was no rush; we had plenty of time to do dinner.

Except that time never came because Ray died soon after from complications from a stroke.  As I think back, I wish I had taken the time to go out to dinner with Ray.  Obviously, if I had known Ray was going to die, I would have acted differently.  I would not have taken so much for granted.

But often times, it takes a funeral or a tragedy to stop us in our tracks and get us to cherish the value of a moment.  It takes losing a friendship before we truly understand how much joy that friend added to our lives.

drseuss

Theodor Seuss Geisel (Dr. Seuss)

Obviously, we can’t possibly know when the time we spend with someone is our last time.  But one thing we can do is make the most of every moment. How?  Well as Dr. Seuss once said, “Sometimes the questions are complicated but the answers are simple.”

  1. Practice Gratitude:  Appreciate your blessings and share your thankfulness.
  2. Let everyone know how much they mean to you:  Tell them how you feel.
  3. Show Your Love:  Don’t just say I love you, SHOW IT. Everyone needs to feel loved.
  4. Be True to YOU!:  Don’t change who you are for anyone. Respect yourself enough to be true to yourself and be who you truly are.

Renowned children’s author and cartoonist Dr. Seuss published over 60 books.  Some of his most famous works include The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham.  His first book, Think That I Saw it on Mulberry Street was rejected 27 times before it was published in 1937 by Vanguard Press.

His catchy phrases, brilliant rhymes and visionary characters won the hearts of both children and adults alike.  My favorite quote by Dr. Seuss is “Sometimes you never know the value of a moment until it becomes a memory.”  Wise words by a very wise man.

Getting older is not all that bad.  As I’ve grown older, I’ve come to appreciate these small moments in life more and more.  Getting older has taught me priceless lessons that unfortunately only come with age.  It has introduced me to the person I truly am.

So looking back, although I’ve come to recognize the value of countless memories of years gone by,   I wish I had done so while they were still moments more often.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

