No More Pain

We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone.” Ronald Reagan

josielegbrace

Me and my dad.

I was born with Spastic Diplegia Cerebral Palsy (SDCP). Basically, this means normal muscle tension is disrupted due to problems with brain-to-nerve communication. This leads to blockage of effective muscle movement and causes muscles to become spastic and tense. Cases of Cerebral Palsy are mild to severe. I am fortunate in that my case is mild.

Having a mild case does not come without pain, however. Over the past several months I have been experiencing extreme pain and stiffness in my right foot and Achilles tendon area. One doctor after another seemed to have no answers for me. After taking anti-inflammatory medicine and and wearing a corrective boot for almost three months, one doctor asked how I was doing. When I responded that I did not feel any improvement whatsoever, his response was, “Well, this is very difficult to treat.”  He then told me to continue taking  the same medicine and wearing the same boot.

Needless to say, I realized that he had no idea how to help me and went elsewhere. Fortunately, I visited with an orthopedic surgeon this week who specializes in Cerebral Palsy named Roy Nuzzo in Summit, New Jersey. Dr. Nuzzo will be performing two surgical procedures on April 12. One is a procedure he pioneered known as SPML (Selective Percutaneous Myofascial Lengthening) which is a non-traditional, minimally invasive procedure used to lengthen and release the affected tendon. He will also perform an additional surgical procedure to increase blood flow to the area to help treat my calcific tendonitis.  Of course, I am not happy about having to have surgery but I am happy to finally find someone who can help me.

This week, while having dinner with my two daughters, the pain in my leg was making it difficult for me to even stand up. My daughter Lia noticed my distress and helped me to a chair in the kitchen. “Mom,” she told me, “I wish I could take your pain and divide it among everyone else in the world.” I looked at her quizzically.

“Why would you do that?” I asked.

“Because,” she cleverly told me, “if everyone in the world takes a little bit eventually there will be no more pain.” Tears formed in my eyes as I reached over to hug her. I am so proud of Lia; she is wise beyond her 14 years.

Her words reminded me of the first universal law . . . the law of divine oneness. Everythingoneness in the universe, though perceived to be separate, is connected. And everything comes from the same source. Whether you call that source God, Jehovah or Allah doesn’t matter.

Since we are all part of this universal consciousness, everything we do, say or think will affect everyone else. Like attracts like.

My daughter Lia is correct when she claims if everyone could just take a little bit of pain there would eventually be no more pain. If we could all just do a little to make the world a better place, we would do more good than we could ever imagine. As Ronald Reagan once said, “We can’t help everyone, but everyone can help someone.”

Our actions, both good and bad, create a ripple effect. Every act of kindness for example, no matter how small, helps someone else. Think of it this way, kindness and goodwill increase tenfold when shared.

Leave a Reply

