Is There Such Thing as Luck?

When it comes to luck, you make your own.”

Bruce Springsteen
 

When I was little, I remember spending hours combing the grass for a four leaf clover. According to tradition, the four leaf clover is said to bring good luck. And who can’t use a little bit of luck, right?fourleafclover

Luck of the Irish is a phrase which is generally thought to mean “extreme good fortune.” But as noted on mentalfloss.com, the term is not of an Irish origin but American according to Edward T. O’Donnell, an Associate Professor of History at Holy Cross College and author of 1001 Things Everyone Should Know About Irish American History.

“During the gold and silver rush years in the second half of the 19th century, a number of the most famous and successful miners were of Irish and Irish American birth. . . .Over time this association of the Irish with mining fortunes led to the expression ‘luck of the Irish.’ Of course, it carried with it a certain tone of derision, as if to say, only by sheer luck, as opposed to brains, could these fools succeed.”

As St. Patrick’s Day approaches us, many wonder if there is actually such thing as luck. Some say there is no such thing as luck and everything can be chalked up to taking chances in life. Still others say some people are just lucky. Let me give you some examples.

When I was working on my book, Visits from Heaven, I happened to contact ARE Press in Virginia Beach, VA, for reprint permission. When I did, they expressed interest in the book and asked me to submit a book proposal. They liked my book proposal and the rest is history. When some people heard this, they said I got lucky. But did I?

It was my book proposal that sold my book. I spent a long time researching evidential afterlife communication and interviewed some of the top experts in the field. So I don’t think it was luck in this case. I worked hard and it was noticed.

However, what you don’t see are the many rejection letters that I received on the way to final acceptance. One of my favorite quotes by Author Brian Tracy is “I’ve found that luck is quite predictable. If you want more luck, take more chances. Be more active.  Show up more often.”  So I kept pushing and showing up.  I believed in my book and wouldn’t quit.

It had more to do with my determination than luck. That doesn’t mean that I don’t believe in luck.  On the night that I met my husband John, it was freezing and icy outside.  My friend Sara showed up at my apartment wanting me to go out.  I did not want to go out.  I was comfy in my sweatpants and had no interest in braving the icy roads.

She persisted, however, and I ended up relenting. That night, I met my wonderful husband John.  So if you ask me, that night was due to a bit of luck.  But had I not decided to go out, I obviously would not have met John.

The point I’m making here is actions determine outcomes. If you want something, you have to make it happen.

What about the neighbor who won the lottery twice? You might say what a lucky guy he is! I mean who wins twice? The person who keeps taking chances and playing the lottery.  If you play, there’s always a chance you’ll win.  Although the probability of success may be miniscule, it’s still greater than zero.  The odds will always be greater when you at least try.

4 thoughts on “Is There Such Thing as Luck?

  1. I agree. Sheer luck is actually rare, or maybe close to impossible. May I just quote this from Kuroko no Basket: ” In the end, even Lady Luck favours those who are obsessed with winning”
    And if one is obsessed with winning, one will do everything just to win.
    I just want to share my personal experience, but it’s about an RPG I’m playing, and there’s this feature where you play a lottery in order to summon a certain character. Back then, I thought it was purely based on luck. I even had my father do the lottery for me. It turns out, there’s a science in how the lottery works. Since it’s a business, the people behind the RPG tend to increase the success rate of those players who are Pay-to-Play rather than Free-to-Play. And there are also patterns in a player’s account success rate in lottery.
    What I mean is that, like what Brain Tracy mentioned, luck is quite predictable. When one actually tries to study the patterns, act based on that, then you increase your chances. Learn on your mistakes, and improve yourself. Then Lady Luck might just favor you after all!

  2. I’ve come to firmly believe that when it comes to free will, there are only EVER 2 choices in life:

    1. Follow the Will of God (supernatural, outside time and space, miraculous), or
    2. Follow your own.

    Under your own will, ALL of the following has influence in your life: culture, laws of nature, laws of man, common sense, luck, probability, bias, satan, convention, science, money, effort, etc…

    When we are completely under God’s will (not lukewarm or straddling the fence), there is nothing else that touches or influences our lives and there is nothing He cannot or will not do, if its’ His will for your life. We might not always like what His Will might be or His timing, or even in our small, unknowing minds – the fairness factor, but that is our faith tested and refined.

    The more you turn completely away from the natural world to provide for you, the more completely He will provide.

    Hallelujah.

Leave a Reply

